Tempeh is made of cooked and moderately fermented soybeans and shaped right into a patty, comparable to a really firm veggie burger. Numerous commercially ready brands add some other grains, such as for example barley, and in addition add spices and further flavors. Although tempeh is made of soy, it offers an unique taste and is certainly mildly flavorful by itself, unlike tofu.
If you aren’t inclined to tofu, tempeh is as well very high in proteins and calcium, and also helpful isoflavones, but tastes nothing at all like tofu. Tempeh comes with a textured and nutty taste.

How exactly to use Tempeh

Because this is a low-fat and high-protein meal, many vegans decide to include tempeh within their diet regularly. Try using some to a stir fry rather than tofu, or crumble directly into soups or meatless chili. Due to it’s firm texture, you have to slice tempeh into little dices or cubes, only 3/4 inch thick. Tempeh is available in the refrigerated area of most health food shops and in the organic food items aisle of well-stocked food markets.

Nutritional value of tempeh

Depending on the brand name, one serving of tempeh (200 grams) offers about 200 calories, 18.2 grams of proteins (that’s even more proteins per gram than tofu!), and 10% of the RDA of both calcium and iron. Tempeh is really a naturally cholesterol-free food, just like all vegan foods.